Manitowoc IYP0300A-161 Commercial Ice Machine
Manitowoc IYP0300A-161 is a modular commercial ice-making head that requires a separately approved storage bin or dispenser. EPA certification data reports 246 lb/day, 6.37 kWh/100 lb and 16.4 gal/100 lb, with R-290 listed as the refrigerant.
Verification: Check all specifications before purchase. Seller bundles, price and availability change.
| Manufacturer | Manitowoc |
|---|---|
| Model | IYP0300A-161 |
| Rated maximum | 246 lb/day ENERGY STAR certified harvest rate |
| Storage | Separate approved bin or dispenser required; storage is not included in the EPA record |
| Ice | Batch ice-making process; verify exact ice form with Manitowoc |
| Dimensions | Exact dimensions are not stated in the ENERGY STAR row; verify the current manufacturer submittal |
| Cooling | Confirm condenser configuration and heat-rejection clearances for this exact suffix |
| Electrical | Verify voltage, phase, connection and breaker from the exact current specification sheet |
Who it fits—and who should pass
moderate-volume cafés, restaurants, healthcare areas, or satellite service points. Selection still depends on peak draw, warm-condition output, storage, exact ice form, utilities and service support.
No machine should be selected from maximum output alone. Request the exact production table for expected conditions, then compare it with busy-day demand and reserve. Preserve service and airflow clearances.
Installation questions
Verify the complete suffix, voltage, phase, connection, breaker, water, inlet, drain, ventilation and clearance. Measure delivery and service access. For a separate bin or dispenser, confirm the approved match and adapter.
Cleaning and ownership
Review removable food-zone parts, automatic cycle, approved chemistry, condenser access, filtration and authorized service. Plan cartridges, chemical, labor and downtime before treating purchase price as total cost.
Verified model notes
The exact Manitowoc model string in the EPA ENERGY STAR certified-product record is IYP0300A-161. The record classifies it as ice making head using a batch ice-making process and reports a certified harvest rate of 246 pounds of ice per day. At the certification test point, energy use is 6.37 kWh per 100 pounds and potable-water use is 16.4 gallons per 100 pounds. The listed refrigerant is R-290; connected functionality is listed as no, and the certified markets are the United States and Canada. The dataset gives 2025-12-15 as the date available on market. These are certification values under defined test conditions, not a promise of output in every kitchen. Current manufacturer-family documentation starts at https://www.manitowocice.com/Products/Ice-Machines. Confirm the exact specification sheet, installation manual, warranty and approved accessory list before ordering because the EPA record does not contain every purchase-critical dimension, voltage, ice shape or field-performance value.
Best-fit buyer
Manitowoc IYP0300A-161 belongs on an initial shortlist for moderate-volume cafés, restaurants, healthcare areas, or satellite service points. Its 246-pound certified harvest figure defines a comparison band; it does not determine fit by itself. The right shortlist starts with each use of ice—drinks, pitchers, displays, prep, transport and staff use—then adds a stated reserve instead of an unexplained safety factor. Because this is a modular commercial ice-making head that requires a separately approved storage bin or dispenser, the buyer must account for the complete installed system rather than the head or cabinet alone. The batch process should also prompt verification of the exact ice form and compatibility with the intended dispenser, beverage program or food-display use. It may be too small for a property with concentrated banquets or bulk cooler filling, yet unnecessarily complex for a lightly used office pantry. Compare warm-condition production, usable storage, recovery after the peak, local authorized service and the cost of a realistic backup plan before treating this as the final choice.
Limitations and tradeoffs
The 246-pound figure is a laboratory comparison point; warm air, warm inlet water, scale and restricted heat rejection can reduce real production. The listing is not a complete head-and-bin package, and a seller photograph must not be used as evidence that storage or adapters are included. A complete model suffix matters: voltage, phase, ice form, condenser method and accessories may change between models that look nearly identical in a catalog. This profile does not state a price, Amazon availability, consumer rating, hands-on test result, warranty interpretation or repair history. It also does not infer dimensions or electrical requirements that are absent from the certification row. The batch classification does not, by itself, prove the precise ice geometry or suitability for a particular dispenser. Buyers who cannot verify current manuals, authorized service, water conditions, drainage and the matching storage or dispensing system should pause the order rather than fill gaps with assumptions.
Installation planning
IYP0300A-161 is only the production head. Select an approved bin or dispenser, any required adapter or top kit, and a combination that leaves room to lift panels and remove food-zone components without moving adjacent equipment. The EPA record lists R-290, but it does not replace the installation manual. Verify voltage, phase, breaker or disconnect, potable-water pressure and temperature, drain type and slope, air gap, heat rejection, ambient limits, floor loading and local code. Plan delivery around doors, elevators and turns as well as the final footprint. A nominal 246-pound production class can still fail operationally if the room is hot, airflow recirculates or gravity drainage cannot maintain fall. The submittal should identify who supplies filtration, shutoff, backflow protection, air gap, drain receptor, electrical disconnect and final commissioning; omissions here create expensive job-site surprises.
Maintenance planning
Manitowoc IYP0300A-161 should enter service with a written cleaning, descaling, sanitizing and inspection schedule based on its current manual, water test and usage. For batch equipment, staff should understand the harvest area, water circuit, curtain or sensing components, spray or distribution passages and the surfaces that are removed for cleaning. The certified record reports 16.4 gallons of potable water per 100 pounds of ice at its test point; this is a comparison metric, not a filter-sizing formula. Select treatment from measured sediment, hardness, chlorine and other relevant conditions while preserving required flow and pressure. Clean the bin or dispenser and scoop system as part of the same food-safety plan, inspect the condenser or remote heat-rejection path, and budget cartridges, approved chemistry and trained labor. Filtration never replaces sanitation. Record scale, slime, odor, unusual sound and cycle changes so a technician sees a trend instead of an undocumented emergency.
Verdict
This profile establishes fit and a verification checklist; it does not award a fabricated score. The IYP0300A-161 belongs on a shortlist only when warm-condition production, storage and installation match the operation.
Verify specifications with Manitowoc
No Amazon button is shown until the exact listing is verified. As an Amazon Associate, we may earn from qualifying purchases.