Hoshizaki KM-116BAK Commercial Ice Machine
Hoshizaki KM-116BAK is a self-contained commercial ice unit whose ice maker and storage function are packaged as one equipment class. EPA certification data reports 110 lb/day, 5.2 kWh/100 lb and 20.0 gal/100 lb, with R-290 listed as the refrigerant.
Verification: Check all specifications before purchase. Seller bundles, price and availability change.
| Manufacturer | Hoshizaki |
|---|---|
| Model | KM-116BAK |
| Rated maximum | 110 lb/day ENERGY STAR certified harvest rate |
| Storage | Integrated storage class; verify usable bin capacity in the exact manufacturer sheet |
| Ice | Batch ice-making process; verify exact ice form with Hoshizaki |
| Dimensions | Exact dimensions are not stated in the ENERGY STAR row; verify the current manufacturer submittal |
| Cooling | Confirm condenser configuration and heat-rejection clearances for this exact suffix |
| Electrical | Verify voltage, phase, connection and breaker from the exact current specification sheet |
Who it fits—and who should pass
compact restaurants, cafés, bars, and breakrooms that need a self-contained daily supply. Selection still depends on peak draw, warm-condition output, storage, exact ice form, utilities and service support.
No machine should be selected from maximum output alone. Request the exact production table for expected conditions, then compare it with busy-day demand and reserve. Preserve service and airflow clearances.
Installation questions
Verify the complete suffix, voltage, phase, connection, breaker, water, inlet, drain, ventilation and clearance. Measure delivery and service access. For a separate bin or dispenser, confirm the approved match and adapter.
Cleaning and ownership
Review removable food-zone parts, automatic cycle, approved chemistry, condenser access, filtration and authorized service. Plan cartridges, chemical, labor and downtime before treating purchase price as total cost.
Verified model notes
The exact Hoshizaki model string in the EPA ENERGY STAR certified-product record is KM-116BAK. The record classifies it as self contained unit using a batch ice-making process and reports a certified harvest rate of 110 pounds of ice per day. At the certification test point, energy use is 5.2 kWh per 100 pounds and potable-water use is 20.0 gallons per 100 pounds. The listed refrigerant is R-290; connected functionality is listed as no, and the certified markets are the United States and Canada. The dataset gives 2025-10-01 as the date available on market. These are certification values under defined test conditions, not a promise of output in every kitchen. Current manufacturer-family documentation starts at https://www.hoshizakiamerica.com/product-category/ice-machines/. Confirm the exact specification sheet, installation manual, warranty and approved accessory list before ordering because the EPA record does not contain every purchase-critical dimension, voltage, ice shape or field-performance value.
Best-fit buyer
Hoshizaki KM-116BAK belongs on an initial shortlist for compact restaurants, cafés, bars, and breakrooms that need a self-contained daily supply. Its 110-pound certified harvest figure defines a comparison band; it does not determine fit by itself. The right shortlist starts with each use of ice—drinks, pitchers, displays, prep, transport and staff use—then adds a stated reserve instead of an unexplained safety factor. Because this is a self-contained commercial ice unit whose ice maker and storage function are packaged as one equipment class, the buyer must account for the complete installed system rather than the head or cabinet alone. The batch process should also prompt verification of the exact ice form and compatibility with the intended dispenser, beverage program or food-display use. It is not an obvious fit for operations that routinely fill coolers, serve several meal periods, or need a large reserve after closing. Compare warm-condition production, usable storage, recovery after the peak, local authorized service and the cost of a realistic backup plan before treating this as the final choice.
Limitations and tradeoffs
The 110-pound certified output is a meaningful constraint: one event, cooler fill or unexpectedly heavy beverage period can consume a large part of the nominal day. Self-contained construction limits storage and configuration choices, and cabinet fit can be defeated by drain, ventilation, door-swing or service-access requirements. A complete model suffix matters: voltage, phase, ice form, condenser method and accessories may change between models that look nearly identical in a catalog. This profile does not state a price, Amazon availability, consumer rating, hands-on test result, warranty interpretation or repair history. It also does not infer dimensions or electrical requirements that are absent from the certification row. The batch classification does not, by itself, prove the precise ice geometry or suitability for a particular dispenser. Buyers who cannot verify current manuals, authorized service, water conditions, drainage and the matching storage or dispensing system should pause the order rather than fill gaps with assumptions.
Installation planning
KM-116BAK packages production and storage in a self-contained equipment class, but its finished opening still needs a measured width, depth and height allowance plus the clearances specified for ventilation and service. The EPA record lists R-290, but it does not replace the installation manual. Verify voltage, phase, breaker or disconnect, potable-water pressure and temperature, drain type and slope, air gap, heat rejection, ambient limits, floor loading and local code. Plan delivery around doors, elevators and turns as well as the final footprint. A nominal 110-pound production class can still fail operationally if the room is hot, airflow recirculates or gravity drainage cannot maintain fall. The submittal should identify who supplies filtration, shutoff, backflow protection, air gap, drain receptor, electrical disconnect and final commissioning; omissions here create expensive job-site surprises.
Maintenance planning
Hoshizaki KM-116BAK should enter service with a written cleaning, descaling, sanitizing and inspection schedule based on its current manual, water test and usage. For batch equipment, staff should understand the harvest area, water circuit, curtain or sensing components, spray or distribution passages and the surfaces that are removed for cleaning. The certified record reports 20.0 gallons of potable water per 100 pounds of ice at its test point; this is a comparison metric, not a filter-sizing formula. Select treatment from measured sediment, hardness, chlorine and other relevant conditions while preserving required flow and pressure. Clean the bin or dispenser and scoop system as part of the same food-safety plan, inspect the condenser or remote heat-rejection path, and budget cartridges, approved chemistry and trained labor. Filtration never replaces sanitation. Coordinate cleaning with the operating schedule so the bin can be emptied safely and the full procedure can be completed rather than shortened during service.
Verdict
This profile establishes fit and a verification checklist; it does not award a fabricated score. The KM-116BAK belongs on a shortlist only when warm-condition production, storage and installation match the operation.
Verify specifications with Hoshizaki
No Amazon button is shown until the exact listing is verified. As an Amazon Associate, we may earn from qualifying purchases.