Commercial Ice Maker FIELD GUIDE
Home › Products › Follett › C1014A
Exact model profile

Follett C1014A Commercial Ice Machine

Follett C1014A is a modular commercial ice-making head that requires a separately approved storage bin or dispenser. EPA certification data reports 802 lb/day, 4.35 kWh/100 lb and 12.0 gal/100 lb, with R-290 listed as the refrigerant.

Verification: Check all specifications before purchase. Seller bundles, price and availability change.

ManufacturerFollett
ModelC1014A
Rated maximum802 lb/day ENERGY STAR certified harvest rate
StorageSeparate approved bin or dispenser required; storage is not included in the EPA record
IceContinuous ice-making process; verify exact ice form with Follett
DimensionsExact dimensions are not stated in the ENERGY STAR row; verify the current manufacturer submittal
CoolingConfirm condenser configuration and heat-rejection clearances for this exact suffix
ElectricalVerify voltage, phase, connection and breaker from the exact current specification sheet

Who it fits—and who should pass

large foodservice or hospitality operations that can use a high-output modular machine. Selection still depends on peak draw, warm-condition output, storage, exact ice form, utilities and service support.

No machine should be selected from maximum output alone. Request the exact production table for expected conditions, then compare it with busy-day demand and reserve. Preserve service and airflow clearances.

Installation questions

Verify the complete suffix, voltage, phase, connection, breaker, water, inlet, drain, ventilation and clearance. Measure delivery and service access. For a separate bin or dispenser, confirm the approved match and adapter.

Cleaning and ownership

Review removable food-zone parts, automatic cycle, approved chemistry, condenser access, filtration and authorized service. Plan cartridges, chemical, labor and downtime before treating purchase price as total cost.

Verified model notes

The exact Follett model string in the EPA ENERGY STAR certified-product record is C1014A. The record classifies it as ice making head using a continuous ice-making process and reports a certified harvest rate of 802 pounds of ice per day. At the certification test point, energy use is 4.35 kWh per 100 pounds and potable-water use is 12.0 gallons per 100 pounds. The listed refrigerant is R-290; connected functionality is listed as no, and the certified markets are the United States and Canada. The dataset gives 2025-12-29 as the date available on market. The normalized energy and water figures let a buyer compare certified records without pretending to know local utility cost. Current manufacturer-family documentation starts at https://www.follettice.com/ice-machines/. Confirm the exact specification sheet, installation manual, warranty and approved accessory list before ordering because the EPA record does not contain every purchase-critical dimension, voltage, ice shape or field-performance value.

Best-fit buyer

Follett C1014A belongs on an initial shortlist for large foodservice or hospitality operations that can use a high-output modular machine. Its 802-pound certified harvest figure defines a comparison band; it does not determine fit by itself. The right shortlist starts with each use of ice—drinks, pitchers, displays, prep, transport and staff use—then adds a stated reserve instead of an unexplained safety factor. Because this is a modular commercial ice-making head that requires a separately approved storage bin or dispenser, the buyer must account for the complete installed system rather than the head or cabinet alone. The continuous process should also prompt verification of the exact ice form and compatibility with the intended dispenser, beverage program or food-display use. It deserves consideration only where measured peak demand and storage justify this production band; buying it for a vague future-growth idea can waste floor space and capital. Compare warm-condition production, usable storage, recovery after the peak, local authorized service and the cost of a realistic backup plan before treating this as the final choice.

Limitations and tradeoffs

At 802 certified pounds per day, C1014A can look reassuringly large, but high output does not cure undersized storage or a withdrawal pattern that empties the bin faster than the machine recovers. The listing is not a complete head-and-bin package, and a seller photograph must not be used as evidence that storage or adapters are included. A complete model suffix matters: voltage, phase, ice form, condenser method and accessories may change between models that look nearly identical in a catalog. This profile does not state a price, Amazon availability, consumer rating, hands-on test result, warranty interpretation or repair history. It also does not infer dimensions or electrical requirements that are absent from the certification row. The continuous classification does not, by itself, prove the precise ice geometry or suitability for a particular dispenser. Buyers who cannot verify current manuals, authorized service, water conditions, drainage and the matching storage or dispensing system should pause the order rather than fill gaps with assumptions.

Installation planning

C1014A is only the production head. Select an approved bin or dispenser, any required adapter or top kit, and a combination that leaves room to lift panels and remove food-zone components without moving adjacent equipment. The EPA record lists R-290, but it does not replace the installation manual. Verify voltage, phase, breaker or disconnect, potable-water pressure and temperature, drain type and slope, air gap, heat rejection, ambient limits, floor loading and local code. Plan delivery around doors, elevators and turns as well as the final footprint. A nominal 802-pound production class can still fail operationally if the room is hot, airflow recirculates or gravity drainage cannot maintain fall. Photograph the proposed utility points and delivery path, put dimensions on the floor plan, and have each trade confirm responsibility before the purchase order is released.

Maintenance planning

Follett C1014A should enter service with a written cleaning, descaling, sanitizing and inspection schedule based on its current manual, water test and usage. Continuous-production equipment deserves particular attention to the evaporator or auger system, seals, drive components and the exact inspection intervals in the service literature. The certified record reports 12.0 gallons of potable water per 100 pounds of ice at its test point; this is a comparison metric, not a filter-sizing formula. Select treatment from measured sediment, hardness, chlorine and other relevant conditions while preserving required flow and pressure. Clean the bin or dispenser and scoop system as part of the same food-safety plan, inspect the condenser or remote heat-rejection path, and budget cartridges, approved chemistry and trained labor. Filtration never replaces sanitation. Coordinate cleaning with the operating schedule so the bin can be emptied safely and the full procedure can be completed rather than shortened during service.

Verdict

This profile establishes fit and a verification checklist; it does not award a fabricated score. The C1014A belongs on a shortlist only when warm-condition production, storage and installation match the operation.

Verify specifications with Follett

No Amazon button is shown until the exact listing is verified. As an Amazon Associate, we may earn from qualifying purchases.